A map of tanzania with zanzibar highlighetd


Zanzibar was once a separate state with a long trading history within the Arab world it united with 'Tanganyika' to form Tanzania in 1964 and still enjoys a high degree of autonomy within the union. Zanzibar consists of two large islands, Unguja (the main island, informally referred to as 'Zanzibar') and Pemba. It is still sometimes referred to as the Spice Islands, renown for its vast variety in spices (cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon, vanilla and pepper, to name a few).

The capital of Zanzibar, located on the island of Unguja, is Zanzibar city, and its old quarter, known as Stone Town, is a World Heritage Site. Zanzibar's ecology is of note for being the home of the endemic Zanzibar Red Colobus and the Zanzibar Leopard. 

The coral reefs surrounding the island and its archipelago add to the beauty of the sea. Picturesque sailing dhows or motor boats take visitors to the reefs either to scuba dive or snorkel in the turquoise waters. Dolphin watching is also popular. Zanzibar must be amongst the most romantic islands in which to spend a memorable holiday. 
Details on the daily flights to/from Zanzibar can be found here.

Nearby destinations
 Dar es Salaam